Cart 0

• Pre-Order : Various Artists (Beat Girls) "Marylebone Beat Girls 1964-1967" LP

RM 120.00

Ace Records

Pre-Order by 3rd April 2023

180g Orange Vinyl

Superior 60s she-pop from UK Parlophone, Columbia and HMV – in  deluxe vinyl formats.

This follow-up to our recent “Love Hit Me! Decca Beat Girls” and “Scratch My Back! Pye Beat Girls” releases spotlights the female singers who recorded during 1964-1967 for the EMI group of labels, headquartered in Marylebone in the heart of London’s West End. As girl-pop champion Sheila Burgel writes in the package, “Most of the female acts signed by EMI were teenagers completely tuned in to the current pop trends. Scottish duo the McKinleys, R&B club habitué Julie Driscoll, talent show winner Billie Davis and Midlands pub singer Beverley Jones took original material from London’s Tin Pan Alley and American covers and gave them a vigorous kick that made for fabulous 45s. They may not have had quite the polish of their US counterparts, but the rough’n’ready sound of the Marylebone Beat Girl was precisely her appeal.”

The collection is available in 12-track LP and 25-track CD formats. Julie Driscoll graces the cover of the LP edition, which is pressed on 180g mandarin coloured vinyl in a heavy duty sleeve, with a 3000-word track commentary and an array of rare photos and memorabilia on the inner bag. The CD version, featuring Billie Davis on the cover, comes with a bumper 28-page booklet featuring a 7000-word note and additional photos.

Side 1

01. Dancing Yet - Liza & The Jet Set
02. Whatcha' Gonna Do - Billie Davis & The Leroys
03. Sweet And Tender Romance - The McKinleys
04. Don't Do It No More - Julie Driscoll
05. Love Is A Word - Alma Cogan
06. Stop And You Will Become Aware - Helen Shapiro

Side 2

01. Music Talk - Beryl Marsden
02. Like The Big Man Said - Toni Daly
03. I Want That Boy - The Chantelles
04. The Boy I Used To Know - Andee Silver
05. Mama Didn't Lie - Jean & The Statesides
06. He Doesn't Want You - The Three Bells