Cart 0

• Pre-Order : Studio One Rocksteady "Volume 2" 2LP/CD

RM 70.00

Soul Jazz Records

Pre-Order before 28th June 22!

"Rocksteady, Soul and Early Reggae at Studio One The Soul of Young Jamaica"
Soul Jazz Records’ new journey into the mighty vaults of Clement Dodd’s Studio One steps once more into the fertile musical environment of Jamaican music in the late 1960s and early 1970s, from the sweet harmony vocals of seminal 1960s Rocksteady right up to the nascent birth of Reggae and Roots music at the start of the 1970s.

Sleevenotes to this album are by Steve Barrow, author of ‘Rough Guide to Reggae’ as well as Soul Jazz Records’ own ‘Reggae Soundsystem Cover Art’ books.

While Ska at the start of the 1960s had taken American rhythm and blues as its main influence, Rocksteady focused on the emergence of American Soul music – with Jamaican vocal harmony groups such as The Gaylads, John Holt & The Paragons, Carlton & The Shoes showing a particular fascination with the close harmonies of Curtis Mayfield and The Impressions and other US soul acts. Here The Heptones even feature with a cover of Bob Dylan’s ‘I Shall Be Released’.

The influence of Soul music on Jamaican rock steady and reggae is almost palpable, so much so that one wonders how much more successful singers like Delroy Wilson, Alton Ellis, Slim Smith and John Holt would have been had they been born in Chicago, Detroit or Memphis

Artists such as Alton Ellis, Delroy Wilson and Owen Gray defined the era – a slowed down beat as Jamaican political and social heat slowly increased as the 1960s progressed into the start of the 1970s –  and the music evolved further from rock steady into roots reggae.

Tracklist :
1. The Eternals (2) – Stars 3:11
2. John Holt – Fancy Make Up 4:18
3. Cecile Campbell - Whisper To Me 2:00
4. The Heptones – Party Time 2:41
5. The Gaylads – Joy In The Morning 3:09
6. Marcia Griffiths – My Ambition 2:38
7. The Heptones – Love Won't Come Easy 3:27
8. Alton Ellis – Hurting Me 2:27
9. Wailing Souls – Row Fisherman Row 5:21
10. Ken Boothe – Home, Home, Home 2:57
11. Jackie Mittoo – Our Thing 2:51
12. Ken Boothe – When I Fall In Love 2:42
13. Larry & Alvin – Throw Me Corn 2:23
14. Duke Morgan – Lick It Back 1:45
15. Carlton And The Shoes – Me And You 3:06
16. Dennis Brown – Easy Take It Easy 4:44
17. The Classics (12) – Pack Up 3:07
18. Ken Boothe – Moving Away 3:14